## PROPOSALS FOR PRIMARY CARE TRUSTS APPROVED BY SECRETARY OF STATE FOR HEALTH ON 30 NOVEMBER FOR CONSULTATION

SHA	Proposals for Primary Care Trusts (PCTs) approved by Secretary of State for Health on 30 November 2005 for consultation
London	No need for consultation
Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire	4 options:  2 PCTs (Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire)  3 PCTs (Hertfordshire; Luton; Bedfordshire)  3 PCTs (Bedfordshire; East and North Hertfordshire; West Hertfordshire)
Essex	4 PCTs (Luton; Bedfordshire; East and North Hertfordshire; West Hertfordshire)  4 options:
	2 PCTs (North Essex; South Essex) 3 PCTs (Essex; Thurrock; Southend) 4 PCTs (North Essex; South Essex; Thurrock; Southend) 5 PCTs (Mid Essex; North East Essex; South East Essex; South West Essex; West Essex)

Norfolk Suffolk and Cambridgeshire	2 options:  3 PCTs (Norfolk; Suffolk; Cambridgeshire)  5 PCTs (Norfolk; Suffolk; Cambridgeshire; Peterborough; Great Yarmouth and Waveney)
	To the (Noticine, Barrone, Barrone, Potorborough, Broat Farmouth and Waveney)
Kent and Medway	3 options:
	3 PCTs (East Kent including Ashford; West Kent; Medway)
	3 PCTs (East Kent; West Kent including Ashford; Medway)
	2 PCTs (Kent; Medway)
Surrey and Sussex	2 options:
	4 PCTs (East Sussex; West Sussex; Surrey; Brighton and Hove)
	5 PCTs (2 PCTs for East Sussex – split East and West; West Sussex; Surrey; Brighton and Hove)
Hampshire and Isle Of	2 options:
Wight	4 PCTs (Hampshire; Portsmouth; Southampton; Isle Of Wight)
	6 PCTs (East Hampshire; West Hampshire; Portsmouth; North Hampshire; Southampton; Isle Of Wight)
Thames Valley	2 options:
	4 PCTs (Buckinghamshire and Milton Keynes; East Berkshire; West Berkshire; Oxfordshire)

	5 PCTs (Milton Keynes; Mid and South Buckinghamshire; East Berkshire; West Berkshire; Oxfordshire)  As it is currently expressed, the case for 3 PCTs does not meet the criteria. For this option to go ahead for consultation, a clearer and stronger case for it needs to be made.
Dorset and Somerset	2 options:
	3 PCTs (Somerset; Dorset; Bournemouth and Poole)
	4 PCTs (Somerset; Dorset; Bournemouth; Poole)
South West Peninsula	3 options:
	4 PCTs (Cornwall and Isles of Scilly; Plymouth; Devon; Torbay)
	5 PCTs (Cornwall and Isles of Scilly; Plymouth; North Devon; South Devon; Torbay)
	6 PCTs (Cornwall and Isles of Scilly; Plymouth; Torbay; South Devon; North and Mid-Devon; Exeter and East Devon)
Avon, Gloucestershire and Wiltshire	2 options:
	3 PCTs (Gloucestershire; Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucester; Greater Wiltshire)
	7 PCTs (Bristol; Wiltshire; North Somerset; South Gloucester; Swindon; Gloucestershire; Bath and North East Somerset)

Birmingham and Black Country	2 options:  8 PCTs (Dudley; Solihull; Walsall; Wolverhampton; Sandwell; North East Birmingham; South Birmingham; Heart Of Birmingham)  6 PCTs (Dudley; Solihull; Walsall; Wolverhampton; Sandwell; Birmingham)
Shropshire and Staffordshire	2 options: 4 PCTs (Staffordshire; Stoke; Shropshire; Telford and the Wrekin) 5 PCTs (North Staffordshire; South Staffordshire; Stoke; Shropshire; Telford and the Wrekin)
West Midlands South	1 option: 4 PCTs (Coventry; Herefordshire; Warwickshire and Rugby; Worcestershire, Wyre, Redditch and Bromsgrove)
Trent	Options for PCTs:-  Nottinghamshire: 1 PCT for Nottinghamshire (including City and Bassetlaw) 2 PCTs (Nottingham County; Nottingham City) 2 PCTs (Nottingham County minus Bassetlaw, which would be linked to Doncaster; Nottingham City

	Lincolnshire: Single Lincolnshire PCT  Derbyshire: 1 PCT for Derbyshire (including Glossop)  1 PCT for Derbyshire (excluding Glossop, which would be linked to Tameside as part of Greater
	Manchester) 2 PCTs (1 for Derby City; one for Derby County including Glossop)
	2 PCTs (1 for Derby City; 1 for Derby County excluding Glossop, which would be linked to Tameside as part of Greater Manchester)
Leicestershire Northamptonshire and	2 options:
Rutland	3 PCTs (Leicestershire and Rutland; Leicester City; Northamptonshire)
	4 PCTs (Leicestershire and Rutland; Northampton, Daventry and South Northamptonshire; North Northamptonshire; Leicester City)
Cheshire and Merseyside	2 options:
	7 PCTs (Liverpool; Sefton; Knowsley; Halton and St Helens; Warrington; Wirral; Cheshire)
	Although a second option for PCTs is not proposed for consultation, the local consultation should identify whether there is sufficient support for a single Cheshire PCT or whether the county needs to be divided.

Greater Manchester	1 option:
	10 PCTs: (Manchester; Trafford; Heywood, Middleton and Rochdale; Ashton, Leigh and Wigan; Bolton; Bury; Oldham; Salford; Stockport; Tameside and Glossop)
Cumbria and Lancashire	3 options:
	4 PCTs (Cumbria; Blackpool; Blackburn with Darwen; Lancashire)
	5 PCTs (Cumbria; Blackpool; Blackburn with Darwen; Lancashire; Morecambe Bay)
	6 PCTs (Cumbria; Blackpool; Blackburn with Darwen; Lancaster, Fylde and Wyre; Burnley, Rossendale, Pendle, Hyndburn and Ribble Valley; West Lancashire, South Ribble, Chorley and Preston)
Northumberland Tyne and Wear; and County	2 options for each area:-
Durham and Tees Valley	NTW:
Burnam and rees valley	2 PCTs (North of Tyne and Northumberland; South of Tyne and Sunderland)
	6 PCTs (retaining the existing 5 unitary authority PCTs and a Northumberland PCT)
	CDTV:
	2 PCTs (County Durham; Tees Valley)
	6 PCTs (retaining the existing 5 unitary authority PCTs and a County Durham PCT)
North and East Yorkshire	2 options:

and Northern Lincolnshire	4 PCTs (North Yorkshire and York; Hull; East Riding; Northern Lincolnshire)
	5 organisations (North Yorkshire and York; Hull; East Riding; two organisations for Northern Lincolnshire - one for North Lincolnshire and one for North East Lincolnshire)
South Yorkshire	2 options: 4 PCTs (Barnsley; Rotherham; Doncaster – excluding Bassetlaw; Sheffield) 4 PCTs (Barnsley; Rotherham; Doncaster – including Bassetlaw; Sheffield)
West Yorkshire	1 option: 5 PCTs (Bradford; Calderdale; Kirklees; Leeds; Wakefield)